Hidden Gluten: Foods and ingredients that contain occluded gluten

photorealistic image of the wheat ninja, made from wheat glue, hiding in the shadows, with a katana (dalle2)

THIS INFORMATION COULD BE OF SERIOUS CONSEQUENCE TO FOLKS WITH GLUTEN ALLERGIES.

Copy and paste this into a document somewhere on your computer, keep it on the fridge.

Don’t go crazy by this information, unless you have a really serious gluten intolerance - this is meant to be a guide and not an absolute, avoid at all cost scenario.

Here’s a list of foods that have hidden gluten containing ingredients, that may not be labeled as “gluten” or “contains gluten”

all purpose flour

amp-isostearoyl

atta flour

barley grass

barley hordeum vulgare

barley malt

bleached flour

bran bread

bread crumbs

brewer’s yeast

bromated flour

brown flour

bulgur

bulgur wheat

cake flour

cereal binding

cereal extract

chilton

club wheat (triticum aestivum

subspecies compactum)

common wheat (triticum aestivum)

cookie crumbs

cookie dough

cookie dough pieces

couscous

cracker meal

criped rice

dinkle (spelt)

disodium wheatgermamido peg-2

sulfosuccinate

durum

durum flour

durum wheat (triticum durum)

edible coatings

edible films

edible starch

einkorn (triticum monococcum)

emmer (triticum dicoccon)

enriched bleached flour

enriched bleached wheat flour

enriched flour

farina

farina graham

farro

filler flour

flour

fu

germ

graham flour

granary flour

groats

hard wheat

heeng

high gluten flour

hing

hordeum vulgare extract

hydrolyzed wheat gluten

hydrolyzed wheat protein

hydrolyzed wheat protein pg-propyl

silanetriol

hydrolyzed wheat starch

hydroxypropyltrimonium hydrolyzed

wheat protein

kamut

kecap manis

ketjap manis

kluski pasta maida

macha wheat (triticum aestivum)

malt

malt extract

malt flavoring

malt syrup

malt vinegar

malted barley flour

malted milk

matza

matza meal

matzah

matzah meal

matzo

matzo semolina

matzoh meal

meringue

meripro 711

mir

nishasta

oriental wheat (triticum turanicum)

orzo pasta

pearl barley

persian wheat (triticum carthlicum)

perungayam

phosphated flour

polish wheat (triticum polonicum)

poulard wheat (triticum turgidum)

rice malt

roux

rusk

rye

seitan

self-rising flour

semolina

semolina triticum

shot wheat (triticum aestivum)

small spelt

soft wheat flour

spelt (triticum spelta)

sprouted barley

sprouted wheat or barley

stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl

hydrolyzed wheat protein

steel ground flour

stone ground flour

strong flour

suet in packets

tabbouleh

tabouli

timopheevi wheat (triticum timopheevii)

triticale

triticale x triticosecale

triticum aestivum

triticum aestivum subspecies

compactum

triticum vulgare (wheat) flour lipids

triticum vulgare (wheat) germ extract

triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil

udon (wheat noodles)

unbleached flour

vavilovi wheat (triticum aestivum)

vital wheat gluten

wheat (triticum vulgare) bran extract

wheat abyssinian hard triticum durum

wheat amino acids

wheat bran

wheat bran extract

wheat bulgur

wheat durum triticum

wheat germ extract

wheat germ glycerides

wheat germ oil

wheat germamidopropyldimonium

hydroxypropyl

wheat grass (can contain seeds)

wheat nuts

wheat protein

wheat protein isolate

wheat sprouts

wheat starch

wheat triticum aestivum

wheat triticum monococcum

whole wheat berries

whole wheat flour

whole-meal flour

wild einkorn (triticum boeotictim)

wild emmer (triticum dicoccoides)

Might Contain Gluten

alcohol

artificial color

baking powder

brown rice syrup

caramel color

caramel flavoring

clarifying agents

coloring

dextrimaltose

dextrins

dry roasted nuts

emulsifiers

enzymes

fat replacer

flavoring

food starch

food starch modified

gelatinized starch

glucose syrup

grain vinegar

gravy cubes

ground spices

hpp

hvp

hydrogenated starch

hydrolysate

hydrolyzed plant protein

hydrolyzed protein

hydrolyzed vegetable protein

hydroxypropylated starch

maltose

medications

miso

mixed tocopherols

modified food starch

modified starch

natural flavor

natural flavoring

natural flavors

natural juices

non-dairy creamer

pregelatinized starch

protein hydrolysates

seafood analogs

seasonings

sirimi

smoke flavoring

soba noodles

soy sauce

soy sauce solids

sphingolipids

stabilizers

starch

stock cubes

surimi

tocopherols

vegetable broth

vegetable gum

vegetable protein

vegetable starch

vitamins

 

Source:

Celiac.com

FARE (formerly The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network - FAAN) - foodallergy.org

National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NDDIC) - digestive.niddk.nih.gov

GlutenFreedomProject.com

 

Foods that might contain gluten but not be labeled:

1. Soy sauce and teriyaki sauce – is Traditionally made from fermented crushed wheat and soy in salty brine with biota culture.  

2. Corn flakes and crisp rice cereal – Some brands are made with from barley malt .

3. Soup thickened with “roux” – Roux is a mixture of fat and flour.  

4. Salad dressings –Check for  malt vinegar, soy sauce, flour, Modified Food Starch. M food starch that’s used to emulsify, thicken, or as an anti-caking agent. Currently in the U.S., modified food starch is usually made from corn; if made from wheat, this must be specified on the label as “modified wheat starch” or “modified food starch (wheat.)”

5. Marinades and barbeque sauces –Often contain malt vinegar, soy sauce, flour. 

6. Taco seasonings – Some contain wheat.

7. Vinegar – Fermented vinegars made from gluten-containing grains need to be avoided. Malt vinegar is fermented and made from barley. Chinese black vinegar could be made using wheat in addition to rice. Distilled vinegars made from gluten-containing grains are gluten-free after distillation.

Items that are usually gluten-free, but could potentially contain gluten at times:

8. Cooking spray – Certain brands of cooking spray contain wheat flour, but most do not.

9. Specialty ketchup – Some brands may use additional ingredients like malt vinegar or miso, which may not be gluten-free. 

10. Mustard – Wheat flour could be added as a thickener or bulking agent in some specialty mustards like English mustard. 

11. Cheese – Some cheeses have added flavors or other ingredients that could contain gluten. For example, some hard cheeses could be soaked in beer. Blue cheese may use penicillium derived from wheat; although gluten levels in the cheese are probably low, GIG recommends choosing GF certified or labeled blue cheeses.

12. Broth/stock – Some powdered or packaged broths can contain gluten, such as yeast extract derived from barley. Some may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein. 

13. Yeast spreads – Popular in the UK and “Down Under” and available in the U.S., these vegan spreads are made from yeasts derived from wheat, barley, oats, and rye.

14. Sausage – Could contain rusk, a twice-baked, gluten-containing bread that is used as a cereal filler in some types of sausage like British “banger” sausages. Some specialty or plant-based (meat-free) sausages could contain wheat gluten.

15. Beef jerky – Certain flavors of beef jerky – such as teriyaki – contain soy sauce.

16. Meat substitutes – Seitan is made of wheat gluten. Other “imitation meats,” such as certain imitation bacon brands, could contain gluten due to the use of vital wheat gluten or yeast extract, which may not be gluten-free. If products with yeast extract are not labeled or certified gluten-free, they should be avoided.

17. Meatless (veggie or vegan) pepperoni – Some brands use wheat gluten as a binder.

18. Meatless or vegan deli meats – Pre-sliced and packaged, these are often made with wheat gluten.

19. Sliced deli meats – They may contain added ingredients that could contain gluten as thickeners, such as wheat-derived dextrin or modified food starch. While these two additives are not always derived from gluten-containing grains, some are. Even if deli meats are gluten-free, watch out for cross-contact when deli workers use the same slicing machines for all products. One way to avoid cross-contact is with pre-packaged lunch meats that are labeled or certified gluten-free. Since deli meats are regulated by the USDA and not the FDA, contact the manufacturer if you have questions or concerns. 

20. Vegan hot dogs – Like other imitation meat products, some brands add wheat gluten to bind and may use yeast extract for flavor. 

21. Veggie burgers – Some brands are made with wheat gluten while others contain oat bran or rolled oats. To avoid potential cross-contact with oats which may contain gluten, find veggie burgers with oats that are labeled or certified gluten-free.

22. Imitation crab products – Some may use wheat starch to bind and unless labeled or certified, wheat starch cannot be assumed to be gluten-free. 

23. Restaurant eggs – Some restaurants add pancake batter to their scrambled egg and omelet mixtures to increase fluffiness and sweetness. Even though eggs are naturally gluten-free, these dishes are not.

24. Seasoned rice – Seasonings could be combined with gluten-containing ingredients like soy sauce solids (powder), wheat flour, or wheat starch.

25. Rice pilaf – Could be made with orzo (a small wheat pasta) or contain wheat flour.

26. Frozen vegetables – While plain vegetables – fresh or frozen – are naturally gluten-free, any with sauces, seasonings, add-ons or special shapes (like broccoli stars) could contain wheat gluten.

27. French fries – Say no to “crunchy,” “seasoned,” or “battered” fries or fries with gravy or sauces on them if you cannot verify that they use entirely gluten-free ingredients. French fries from fast food restaurants are most likely fried in the same oil as gluten-containing foods. Frozen seasoned fries from the grocery store could also contain wheat flour.

28. Pickles – Some brands are made using malt vinegar (derived from barley). 

29. Nuts – Plain, packaged nuts don’t typically contain gluten, but avoid nuts from bulk bins due to possible cross-contact.

30. Processed and flavored potato or corn chips – Some chip brands use wheat starch or whole wheat in their “reconstituted” chips (versus sliced potatoes or corn-only). Also watch out for flavorings derived from wheat or barley.

31. Ice pops and dessert bars – While fruit ice pops made with only fruit juice, water, and sweetener should be gluten-free, other frozen treats on a stick could contain gluten. For example, fudge bars could be made with malted barley extract. Ice cream bars and frozen yogurt bars could contain added ingredients, wheat starch that isn’t certified gluten-free, or flavorings containing gluten such as malt. 

32. Some milkshakes – If a milkshake is made with malt – a malted milkshake – it contains an ingredient derived from barley. If at an ice cream shop, make sure you know exactly what ingredients are added to your shake and make sure clean scoops are used to avoid potential cross-contact.

33. Licorice – Red and black licorice typically contain wheat flour as a main ingredient to bind the rest of the ingredients together. 

34. Energy bars/granola bars – Many are made with oats and are often not labeled or certified gluten-free. To avoid potential cross-contact with oats that may contain gluten, stick to bars with oats that are labeled or certified gluten-free.

35. Chocolate – Some additives, including emulsifiers and flavoring agents in certain chocolates or fillings, could contain gluten. Some specialty chocolates contain barley malt powder.

36. Specialty or flavored coffee and teas – Coffee alternatives could be made with roasted barley. Also watch out for roasted barley tea, including brand names that don’t mention barley.

37. Cocktail mixers – Some mixers that you add to alcohol, such as certain Bloody Mary mixers, contain wheat or barley derivatives as an ingredient.

38. Hard lemonades and wine coolers – Malt-based fermented alcoholic beverages are problematic. Some wine coolers – or beverages marketed as wine coolers – could also use a malt base. Some beverages that might appear to be hard cider made from apples could be a malt-based, apple flavored drink.

Triticum* vulgare – Latin for wheat 

Hordeum vulgare* extract – Latin for barley 

Secale cereal* – Latin for rye 

Avena sativa* – Latin for oats 

 

https://gluten.org/2021/03/23/43-foods-where-gluten-may-be-hidden/

“See the words “gluten-free” on a label, but not seeing a gluten-free certification mark? If a packaged product is regulated by the FDA and labeled “gluten-free,” it is considered safe for gluten-free consumers. The FDA regulation says that manufacturers are required to comply with the gluten-free definition detailed in their regulation.  

The FDA regulation also applies to using the terms “no gluten,” “free of gluten,” and “without gluten” on product labels. If you see any of those terms, and the manufacturer is following the FDA’s gluten-free regulations, then the food should be gluten-free. 

*A product that is labeled gluten-free may include the term “wheat” in the ingredient list (such as “wheat starch”) or in a separate “Contains wheat” statement, but the label must also include the following statement: “The wheat has been processed to allow this food to meet the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.” 

If “wheat starch” is an ingredient in a GFCO–certified product, the wheat has been processed to such an extent that the food meets the GFCO standard of 10 ppm or less gluten. “

 

“For products that are not certified or labeled “gluten-free”, the best way to make sure you are eating or serving gluten-free packaged foods is to read the ingredient list. 

What do you want to avoid? If any of the following are present on the ingredient list, the product is not gluten-free: 

·   Wheat (including all types of wheat such as spelt, emmer, farro, and durum) 

·   Rye 

·   Barley 

·   Oats* 

·   Malt 

·   Brewer’s yeast 

*An important thing to note about oats: Unless the words “gluten-free” or a gluten-free certification mark are on the oats packaging, oats may not be gluten-free. In the U.S., the FDA does not allow descriptions in ingredient lists, so you won’t see “gluten-free oats” as one of the ingredients. Other countries do allow descriptive ingredients so you might see this on products from other countries, such as Canada.  The safest oat products are those that have been certified gluten-free. While products labeled gluten-free should comply with the FDA definition of containing no more than 20 ppm of gluten, this is not third-party verified. GFCO’s standard for gluten-free is 10 ppm of gluten or less.”

https://gluten.org/2021/01/10/3-tips-for-gluten-free-label-reading/

Previous
Previous

Panax Notoginseng San Qi: Clinical Studies and Clinical Applications

Next
Next

What Is Concierge Medicine And Is Concierge Medicine What You Need?  Clarity For Patients From A Concierge Doctor